Crawford AuSable School District voters will pick school board members, decide non-homestead millage request

Six candidates are vying for three seats on the Crawford AuSable Board of Education at the Tuesday, Nov. 6 general election polls.
Stacey Huber, Lon Gauthier, Wendy Kucharek, Lori Johnson, Mark Snyder, and Carol Ramaswamy filed to run for three full six-year terms on the board.
Kucharek is the current school board president, Ramaswamy serves as the school board secretary, and Huber is a trustee on the board. Huber was appointed to the board in September 2017 to replace Rick Febey. Febey moved out of the community.
Huber is a  mortgage originator. She has two daughters enrolled in the Extended Learning  Year program at the Grayling Elementary School.
Johnson retired from her position as a special education teacher at the Grayling Middle School in June. She worked for the school district for 34 years. She has two grown daughters.
Kucharek was an employee with the Crawford AuSable School District from 1988 through 2011. She served as a cook at the Grayling Elementary School, hall monitor at the Grayling Middle School, and library paraprofessional at Frederic Elementary School and Grayling Middle School. She has two grown sons.
Ramaswamy is  a retired nurse who worked at Mercy Hospital Grayling, which is now Munson Healthcare Grayling Hospital. She has four grown children.
Gauthier operates 4 Mile Welding, and his wife, Amy Gauthier, is a teacher at the Grayling Elementary School. The couple has one school-age daughter.
Mark Snyder is as a part-time maintenance director for Northern Pines Assisted Living Community in Grayling and at the Cherry Hill Haven in Kalkaska. He has two children attending school, and is actively involved in the leadership of the Grayling RoboVikes program.
David Malm, the current school board vice president, is running unopposed for a two-year term.  Huber currently holds that position on the board. 
Malm retired after 30 years in the forest products industry with the Weyerhaeuser Company. He has three grown daughters.  
Non-homestead millage renewal request
A millage renewal for non-homestead property, which includes business property and secondary homes, will also be on the ballot.
The proposal would allow the school district to continue to levy the statutory rate not to exceed 18 mills on all property, except principal residences and other property exempted by law, required for the school district to receive its per pupil foundation allowance.
If approved, $18 would be taxed on each $1,000 of taxable valuation. The tax assessment would be levied on non-homestead property in Crawford County and portions of Kalkaska County and Otsego County which are within the school district’s boundaries.  The millage, which would be collected for two years, would provide over $5.1 million per year in operating funds for the school district. 
Voting locations for the Nov. 6 general election in the Crawford County area include Bear Lake Township Hall, Beaver Creek Township Hall, Frederic Township Hall, Lovells Township Hall, Maple Forest Township Hall, Grayling Charter Township Hall, Grayling City Hall, and the Otsego Lake Township Hall. The voting polls are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.   

Crawford County Avalanche

Mailing Address
Box 490
Grayling, MI 49738

Phone: 989-348-6811
FAX: 989-348-6806

Comment Here