Voters approve local proposals

Statewide proposals and mid-term elections brought out a large turnout of voters  throughout Michigan for the Nov. 6 general elections.
In Crawford County, 55 percent of registered voters cast their ballots at the polls.
In the 5th District race for County Commissioner, Carey Jansen beat Hailey Halstead, 474 votes to 407 votes.
The three top vote-getters for the Crawford AuSable School District’s School Board were Stacey Huber with 2,287 votes, Wendy Kucharek with 2,138 votes, and Lori Johnson with 1,941 votes. These three will take seats on the school board. Falling just short in that race were Carol Ramaswamy with 1,597 votes, Mark Snyder with 1,469 votes, and Lon Gauthier with 1,251 votes.
In the race for Crawford, Oscoda, Ogemaw and Roscommon Intermediate School District (COOR ISD) Board of Education, the three winning terms went to Melissa G. Hayes with 14,103 votes, Kara Mularz with 10,085 votes, and Kathryn Fuelling 10,768 votes. Lynda M. Marek, of Grayling, trailed the field with 9,748 votes.
All other local races on the ballot were uncontested.
In the race for U.S. Senate Seat, incumbent Debbie Stabenow won with 2,204,704 votes over Republican challenger and Detroit businessman John James with 1,932,004 votes.
In the 1st Congressional House of Representatives Seat, incumbent Republican Jack Bergman retained his seat with 185,859 votes over Democrat Matt Morgan with 144,293 votes.
In the 35th State Senate District, Republican candidate  Curt VanderWall won with 72,739 votes over Democrat Mike Talliard with 39,989 votes.
In the race for the 103rd  House of Representatives Seat, incumbent Republican Daire Rendon won with 26,018 votes over Democrat challenger Tim Schaiberger with 14,228 votes.
Elsewhere on the ballot, the three county-wide millage proposals all were approved by voters. The Police Protection Millage Renewal passed, 3,977 votes to 2,095 votes. The Police Protection Millage Proposal was approved, 3,449 votes to 2,642 votes. And the Recreation Millage Proposal passed, 3,171 votes to 2,897 votes.
The Crawford AuSable School District Millage Renewal was approved by voters, 3,528 to 1,676 votes.

Crawford County Avalanche

Mailing Address
Box 490
Grayling, MI 49738

Phone: 989-348-6811
FAX: 989-348-6806

Comment Here