Voters approve millage renewals (short version)

Proposals pass for school, library, transportation authority, and township emergency services during Tuesday’s August 4 primary election
Crawford County voters approved several local millage renewals – including county-wide proposals for the library, the school system, and the transportation authority – and decided some local governmental races during the state’s primary election on Tuesday, August 4.
In the race for the county clerk/register of deeds position, incumbent Sandra Moore faced a challenge from Mary Stewart-Green on the Republican portion of the ballot. Moore won with 1,939 votes. Stewart-Green received 1,027 votes.
Voters approved the Crawford County Library’s eight-year millage renewal with 2,337 yes votes and 1,465 no votes.
Voters approved the Crawford County Transportation Authority’s five-year millage renewal with 2,573 yes votes and 1,240 no votes.
The Crawford AuSable School District’s two-year millage renewal passed with 2,336 yes votes and 983 no votes.
City of Grayling voters approved a four-year renewal millage for sidewalk snow removal with 248 yes votes and 72 no votes.
Frederic Township approved millage renewals for fire service (280 yes to 157 no) and ambulance service (287 yes to 149 no). Maple Forest Township renewed a millage to pay for its emergency services through Frederic Township (137 yes to 55 no).
Beaver Creek had three contested races. For supervisor, Dan Bonamie (R) won with 247 votes over Kim VanNuck (R), who had 211 votes. For clerk, Sandy R. Beaudet (R) won with 272 votes; Melissa Lobsinger (R) had 165 votes. Five Republican candidates were vying for two trustee seats. Lee Riley (227 votes) and Douglas Yanniello (182 votes) won, finishing ahead of Deb Helsel (151 votes), Kathleen Baker (131), and James R. Miller (120 votes). (Miller passed away in July of 2020.)
Frederic Township had three contested races. For supervisor, Brandon Gabriel (R) won with 177 votes; William T. Johnson (R) had 164 votes. For treasurer, Karen M. Dawson (R) won with 224 votes; Michael O’Dell (R) had 110 votes. For clerk, Amanda Siwecki (R) had 167 votes and Nancy L. Bindschatel (R) had 143 votes. (Bindschatel passed away in June of 2020.)
Grayling Charter Township had two contested races. For clerk, Diane Giska (R) won with 799 votes; Karen R. Martella (R) had 453 votes. For trustee, five Republican candidates were vying for four seats. The winners were Shannon Sorenson (906 votes), Joseph Smock (824), JoAnn Michal (624), and Claudia Selthoffer (606 votes). Brandi M. Ginnever received 518 votes in the race for trustee.
South Branch Township had one contested race (supervisor). Laurie Luck (R) won with 250 votes and Greg Stansbury (R) received 104 votes.

Crawford County Avalanche

Mailing Address
Box 490
Grayling, MI 49738

Phone: 989-348-6811
FAX: 989-348-6806

Comment Here