Voters choose candidates for next election; all local funding proposals approved at the polls

Crawford County voters helped narrow down a field of candidates running for seats in the State Legislature at the primary election polls on Tuesday, Aug. 7.
In Crawford County, the race for the 35th Senate seat did not match the results for 12-county district on the Republican side of the ballot.
Bruce R. Rendon led with 851 votes, followed by Curt VanderWall with 712 votes. Ray A. Franz trailed with 320, while Cary Urka had 58 votes cast in his favor.
Democrat Mike Taillard captured 856 votes, while Libertarian Timothy Coon garnered seven votes.
District wide, VanderWall won the Republican nomination for the seat with 19,716 votes. Rendon received 9,832 votes, followed by Franz with 9,423. Urka rounded out the field with 1,307 votes.
In the full district, Taillard earned 19,768 votes and Coon garnered 158 votes.
The 35th State Senate District covers Benzie, Crawford, Kalkaska, Lake, Leelanau, Manistee, Mason, Missaukee, Ogemaw, Osceola, Roscommon, and Wexford counties.
In the race for the 103rd District House of Representatives seat, on the Democrat side of the ballot, the results in Crawford County mirrored those in the entire district. Tim Schaiberger received 461 votes, and Steve Loomis captured 460 votes. Incumbent Republican Rep. Daire Rendon received 1,641 votes.
In the overall district, Schaiberger  tallied 3,217 votes over 3,114 votes cast for Loomis. He will go on to face Rendon, who received 12,803 votes.
The 103rd State  House of Representatives district  covers Missaukee, Crawford, Kalkaska, Roscommon, and Ogemaw counties.
All six millage proposals on the Aug. 7 primary election ballot – four for the county and two in the townships – were approved by Crawford County voters. 
A bond proposal aimed at enhancing services and access to the Devereaux Memorial Crawford County Library passed by a 1,584 yes to 1,458 no vote.
Voters also approved a millage renewal request for the Crawford County Road Commission by a 2,110 yes to 942 no vote. The 1.00 mill renewal, which will be levied for four years, will  be used for the maintenance and repair of roads under the jurisdiction of the Crawford County Road Commission, including primary roads and local road improvements.
A new millage, which will be used to purchase buses for the Crawford County Transportation Authority, passed by a 1,862 yes to 1,182 no vote. The .25 mill request to increase funding for the transportation system, better known as Dial-A-Ride, will be levied from 2018 to 2020. It will generate $133,220 per year.
Voters approved a millage renewal for the Crawford County Veteran’s Service Office by a 2,430 yes to 620 no vote. The millage, which will be levied from 2019 to 2023, will be used for the funding, equipping, staffing, maintaining, and operating the Crawford County Veteran’s Service Office. 
In Frederic Township, voters approved up to 1.00 mill for the purpose of providing funds for a new fire truck and associated equipment by a 213 yes to 136 no vote. The millage will go on the tax rolls from 2018 through 2027. 
South Branch Township voters approved a millage renewal for road construction and maintenance by a 317 yes to 124 no vote. The 1.00 mill will go on the South Branch Township tax rolls from 2018 to 2021. It will generate $84,275 in the first year the tax is collected.

Crawford County Avalanche

Mailing Address
Box 490
Grayling, MI 49738

Phone: 989-348-6811
FAX: 989-348-6806

Comment Here