In-person voting to take place November 3

Polls to be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Election Day on Tuesday
In-person voting for the country’s general election will be held on Tuesday, November 3, and the process will decide a number of federal, state, and local races.
Local clerks have been expecting large numbers of absentee ballots to be cast in this election due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, and the Michigan Secretary of State recently reported that more than two million voters in the state have already submitted their ballots.
In Crawford County, polls will be open for in-person voting from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Tuesday, November 3.
Crawford County polling locations include: Grayling City Hall, 1020 City Boulevard; Beaver Creek Township Hall, 8888 S. Grayling Road; Frederic Township Hall, 6470 Manistee Street; Grayling Township Hall, 2090 Viking Way; Lovells Township Hall, 8405 Twin Bridge Road; Maple Forest Township Hall, 2520 W. Marker Road; South Branch Township Hall, 5245 N. M-18.
The ballot for Crawford County voters includes the U.S. presidential race, a U.S. senator race, a representative in Congress race, a state legislature race, the state board of education race, several state college boards, and several judicial positions. 
Crawford County voters will decide a few local races, but many of the local positions up for election feature candidates not facing opposition on the November 3 ballot.
The candidates for Crawford County Prosecuting Attorney, Sheriff, Clerk/Register of Deeds, and Treasurer, as well as all of the Crawford County Board of Commissioners candidates, are running unopposed on the November 3 ballot. The two Crawford AuSable School District Board of Education candidates do not have opposition on the ballot.
So what do Crawford County voters need to decide, as far as local races, on Election Day?
There are three candidates running for two seats on the Crawford County Road Commission Board: Cris Jones (Republican), Ronald Larson (Republican), and Darryl Babbitt (No Party Affiliation). 
Candidates for government positions in the City of Grayling, Beaver Creek Township, Grayling Charter Township, Maple Forest Township, and South Branch Township are not facing opposition on the November 3 ballot.
Frederic Township voters and Lovells Township voters do have contested positions to decide.
In Frederic Township, the ballot lists three candidates for the clerk position: Amanda Siwecki (Republican), Christine Cox (No Party Affiliation), and Kimberly Johnston (No Party Affiliation). There are two candidates listed for the Frederic Township Treasurer position: Karen M. Dawson (Republican) and Jodie Tompkins (No Party Affiliation). Three candidates – Donald Weaver (Democratic), Debra Friedman (Republican), and Randy Richardson (Republican) – are listed on the ballot for two Frederic Township trustee seats.
In Lovells Township, the ballot lists two candidates – Randy Long (Democratic) and Gary Neumann (Republican) – for the supervisor position. 
There are two county-wide millage proposals on the November 3 ballot.
Grayling Recreation Authority, the governing body for Hanson Hills Recreation Area, is asking voters to approve an eight-year operating millage renewal, and the Crawford County Sheriff’s Department is asking for a new five-year millage to pay for a School Resource Officer and a local STING officer.
Voters in Beaver Creek and South Branch voters will help decide a Roscommon Area Public Schools Operating Millage Proposal.
Area voters will also factor in the races for board positions for Kirtland and COOR.
Three candidates – Lyn Sperry, Ian Faulkner, and M. Lynda Marek – are vying for two seats on the COOR ISD Board.
The Kirtland Community College Board of Trustees has two full terms and a partial term to be decided, and both involve write-in candidates.
The race for the two full-term Kirtland Community College Board of Trustees position has one candidate on the ballot – Edwin Pearen – and county election officials reported one write-in candidate, MaryAnn Ferrigan, in the race.
The Kirtland Community College Board of Trustees partial term does not have a candidate listed on the ballot, but Crawford County election officials reported two registered write-in candidates: Alan Ashley Bruder and Thomas Steven Wassa.
There are two state-wide proposals: “A proposed constitutional amendment to allow money from oil and gas mining on state-owned lands to continue to be collected in state funds for land protection and creation and maintenance of parks, nature areas, and public recreation facilities; and to describe how money in those state funds can be spent” and “A proposed constitutional amendment to require a search warrant in order to access a person’s electronic data or electronic communications.”
The Crawford County Avalanche plans to publish later than usual on Tuesday, November 3, in order to have as many local election results as possible in the November 5 edition, but with uncertainty involving the number of absentee ballots and the possibility of other issues on Election Day, it is unknown how complete the results will be as of our publishing deadline on that day.

Crawford County Avalanche

Mailing Address
Box 490
Grayling, MI 49738

Phone: 989-348-6811
FAX: 989-348-6806

Comment Here